The afterlife through the eyes of a child

As a child, I was afraid of spirits (more about that in another post), but I was fascinated by the themes of death and the afterlife, which I pondered  at the oddest moments from an early age.

When I was about ten years old I was walking towards a crossroad one day, pondering the theme of life and death and what people believed about the afterlife.

In my limited scope of knowledge I thought there were only two options.
Number one: to believe you either went to heaven or hell. In my childish way, I quickly dismissed this as nonsense. It just seemed silly to me.
Number two: to believe there was nothing after death. This was even more nonsensical to my ten-year old mind.
I tried to picture people, animals, trees disappearing into a great nothingness and laughed: it was impossible! Every being, every speck of life, even as small as an ant was an in-extractable part of the great Whole. To think a being, even as small as an ant could disappear was ludicrous. The whole structure of the All would collapse!

So I went on my merry way, satisfied that I had at least solved the problem of the two opposing choices and found a third: that we are all, whether great or small, forever living parts of the Great Whole.

3 thoughts on “The afterlife through the eyes of a child

  1. Young children can be wise, very wise. Happy to read your younger self was satisfied with the solution you found. 🙂

Leave a Reply

