”Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass… it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

Image
”Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…  it’s about learning to dance in the rain.” Vivian Greene

I have come across this quote a couple of times lately, and yesterday was my turn to practice it.
I had been working hard and was really looking forward to lunch outside in the countryside with a good friend. I had planned it for that Thursday afternoon because the forecast was sunny. SUN! Ah, how I longed for a nice lunch with good conversation in the sun. Next to the goats. And the chickens. Yes, it’s a lovely biological farm-style establishment where we like to have lunch. In the sun.

That morning I came out of bed a little groggy already. I turned on my computer. The forecast said: rain! Nooooo!
Chagrin took over. It was grey outside, and soon I was feeling grey inside. My lovely plan all spoiled. I huffed and puffed for a few minutes. I was doing a great impression of Grumpy Cat. Then I pulled myself together.

I reminded myself of the 4th Law of the seven Spiritual Laws of Success by Deepak Chopra: 4. The Law of Least Effort: ”Accept people, situations, and events as they occur. Take responsibility for your situation and for all events seen as problems.” I also like to think of this one as the Law of Coyote: see the humour in Life’s lessons, or Coyote will come and pee on your dreams!

So I took my purple umbrella, layered up in multi-weather coats and shawls, and rode my purple bike to the meeting point. As soon as I stepped outside, it began to rain in earnest. Determined to dance in the rain, I kept smiling. I hoped my skirts would not get so soggy they weighed me down.

When I met my friend we walked through the meadow to the country cafe. It was literally littered with cow poop! The meadow, not the cafe. It got really hard not to laugh. There was so much cow poop it was ridiculous. I had been adamant I wanted to wear my big layered skirts for the occasion, and I had to skip and jump the cow pats to save my skirts. I could not help but laughing. It was getting over the top.
Image
In the end, I had the best afternoon in weeks. Ridiculousness, fun and laughter followed the rain and cow poop. And after a lovely lunch inside, the sun came out! We walked home through the fields, still littered with cow pats. It was the best afternoon in a long time!

9 thoughts on “”Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass… it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

  1. A very good and wise story. I had to laugh at the point you wrote about the cow poop everywhere. IT was everywhere indeed!!!
    I had a very good day with compliments, blessings, good food, good talk, many laughs, lovely animals and very good company 😀 :D. ❤ ❤

    1. Thank you, I’m happy you enjoyed it Linda! ♥ Ah, when we let go of how we think things SHOULD be and just enjoy what IS, life can be so much more fun.. I have to remind myself still 😉 ♥ Wendy

Leave a Reply

