rumi thoughts quote poppies wendy gillissen love beauty heaven beyond

”Look past your thoughts, so you may drink the pure nectar of this moment” ~ Rumi

poppies wendy gillissen love heaven inspirationToday I found a sea of pink poppies just growing wild outside my door. It was like finding treasure where I had not expected it. Pink poppies! One of my favourite kinds of flowers, in one of my most beloved colours. A colour I had never seen them in before.

They set me thinking. What is it that fascinates me about poppies? What makes them so beautiful?

poppies wendy gillissen love heaven inspirationThey are in the same category as rainbows, the sky between thunder and sunlight, gorgeous sunsets, blackbird song, iridescent dragonfly wings, moments of love, inspiration and rapture.

They are feeling, ephemeral, ethereal.

You cannot pick them with your bare hands, or they will wither and disappear where you stand.

And that’s what makes them so magical: they breathe a semblance of the unearthly, of the beyond. They are not of this earth. They cannot be grasped. They are like the flowers of heaven.

Not despite, but because of their transient nature and earthly frailty they whisper to us of eternal beauty. The beauty of the beyond.

poppies wendy gillissen love heaven inspiration rumi quote
Poppies are magical ♥

3 thoughts on “”Look past your thoughts, so you may drink the pure nectar of this moment” ~ Rumi

  1. Loved this post Wendy.. especially when you describe them not of this earth… I often have felt the same, and just adore them..
    This year I have had 4 Yellow Poppies come into my Back garden which a neighbour across the road had in her front.. She tells me they are Welsh Poppies.. small and delicate.. but bright and vibrant…
    I adore Poppies and always feel privileged when they show up and I haven’t planted them..
    Sue 🙂 ❤

    1. Thanks so much Sue! Yes, aren’t poppies magical… especially the ones that just come to us! I had some purple flowers on my balcony I never planted as well… no idea where they came from. Isn’t nature magic? Have a lovely weekend, Wendy 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

